The Exercise I Take and Why

Weight-loss, for me, has been motivated by the idea of staying healthy and living a long time. I knew I was going to have to become more active. Like most people, I am chronically short on time. But if I wanted to get fit and stay healthy, I knew that I would have to take regular exercise. So I went with what was easiest (logistically) and most efficient. I run on the treadmill in my garage at the weekend (my DH watching the kids) or during the week after the kids have gone to sleep (DH monitoring the sleep situation). I kettlebell a couple of times a week whilst the toddler sleeps.

Here’s what I’ve noticed: the body adapts incredibly quickly. This was particularly noticeable (and measurable) with running. The first month was HARD. Then the next month, I had a better understanding of what my body could do and that the horrible feeling of effort was actually just discomfort. As I write this, 14 months later, I LIKE the feeling of effort. I LIKE pushing myself to run further and faster.

What do you do and why?

Leave a comment